What’s the statute of limitations for a car accident or personal injury case in Massachusetts?
If you are filing an insurance claim or personal injury lawsuit, what is the statute of limitation, or deadline, to file a lawsuit for a car accident?
If a person is injured in a car accident in Massachusetts claims may be filed to pursue damages for those injuries. Those claims can be filed against the insurance company that insures the vehicle that you were riding in at the time of the accident, against the insurance company that insurer’s the “at fault” driver, or against any third parties who might be responsible.
The Massachusetts Public Safety Board shows over 120,000 motor vehicle accidents in Massachusetts each year. Out of those accidents, over 4,000 accidents result in serious injuries. Often a person who was injured in a car accident or other accident may not fully realize the extent of their injuries. In order to realize the full extent of the injuries the injured individual must receive proper diagnostic evaluations and medical treatment, which takes time. As time passes while treatment is being obtained it is nevertheless important to be mindful of the applicable “statute of limitations.”
The claims process can be confusing and can take months or years to complete. Similarly, the process of receiving the necessary treatment for your injuries can also take months or years. For this reason, it is helpful to have an understanding of how the “statute of limitations” could impact your claim. The statute of limitations is the deadline to file a law suit. The statute of limitations in Massachusetts to file a lawsuit for damages in most situations is 3 years. This means that if your claim is not resolved through a settlement that you must file a lawsuit within 3 years or you will lose any legal right to receive payment for the injuries caused by the accident. This same timeframe applies regardless of whether you were a driver of a vehicle, a passenger of the vehicle, driver of a motorcycle, on a bicycle, or if you were injured as a pedestrian or as a result of a slip and fall on another person’s property. In Massachusetts all such persons typically have 3 years to either settle their claims or file a lawsuit.
The intricacies of the claims process, knowledge of the different types of damages, and the ability to ensure you receive the maximum possible payment for your injuries are just a few of the many reasons why it is important to have a knowledgeable personal injury attorney who will fight to protect your rights and get you the money you deserve.
If you have been injured in a car accident or other accident please call our office today at 508-880-6677 and speak with one of our personal injury attorneys for your free and confidential personal injury case consultation.